Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Bottled Up by Jaye Murray
A high school boy comes to terms with his drug addiction, life with an alcoholic father, and a younger brother who looks up to him.
Call Number: SHS Learning Commons - Print & Digital Collection
Black Girl Unlimited by Echo Brown
A black teenager named Echo believes she is a wizard and uses her magical abilities to cope and rise up out of her crime-infested and poverty-stricken east Cleveland neighborhood, and reach beyond her dysfunctional family's drug addiction.
Call Number: SHS Learning Commons - Print & Digital Collection
Last Night I Sang to the Monster by Benjamin Alire Saenz
Saenz's gripping novel centers on 18-year-old Zach, who resides in a therapeutic treatment center for alcoholism and post-traumatic stress disorder but does not remember how he came to be there. With the help of his roommate, Rafael, and therapist, Adam, Zach must face his painful past and slowly trudge through the steps toward recovery.
Call Number: Libby - eBooks & Audiobooks
Twelve Steps to Normal by Farrah Penn
When her father is sent to rehab for alcoholism, sixteen-year-old Kira is forced to live with her aunt across the country for eight months. She had to leave behind her best friends, boyfriend, and dance team. Now that her dad's done with rehab, Kira can come back home and get her old life back. However, Kira finds out that it's not that simple, and she must go through her own twelve-step program to cope with this new life.
Call Number: Libby - eBooks & Audiobooks
Heroine by Mindy McGinnis
When a car crash sidelines Mickey just before softball season, she has to find a way to hold on to her spot. Behind the plate is the only place she’s ever felt comfortable, and the painkillers she’s been prescribed can help her get there. The pills do more than take away pain; they make her feel good. Her need increases, and it becomes less about pain and more about want, something that could send her spiraling out of control.
Call Number: SHS Learning Commons - Print & Digital Collection
The Revolution of Birdie Randolph by Brandy Colbert
Sixteen-year-old Dove "Birdie" Randolph's close bond with her parents is threatened by a family secret, and by hiding her relationship with Booker, who has been in juvenile detention.
Call Number: SHS Learning Commons - Print & Digital Collection
Thicker Than Water by Kelly Fiore
Cyrus once was a successful athlete, but an injury forced him off the soccer field and into an addiction to pain medication, making him angry and violent. His sister, Cecelia, decided to do something about it, and earn a profit on the side by selling his pills. CeCe, an honor student, becomes a drug dealer in secret.
Call Number: SHS Learning Commons - Print & Digital Collection
Beneath a Meth Moon by Jacqueline Woodson
Laurel Daneau has moved on to a new life, in a new town, but inside she's still reeling from the loss of her beloved mother and grandmother after Hurricane Katrina washed away their home. Laurel's new life is going well, with a new best friend, a place on the cheerleading squad and T-Boom, co-captain of the basketball team, for a boyfriend. Yet Laurel is haunted by voices and memories from her past. When T-Boom introduces Laurel to meth, she immediately falls under its spell.
Call Number: SHS Learning Commons - Print & Digital Collection
Addiction and Overdose by Connie Goldsmith
Drug overdosing and death from prescription painkillers and heroin are at epidemic levels in the United States. How do people become addicted to opioids and other dangerous drugs, and why? Meet the experts who study the neurology of addiction. Hear stories of addicts in recovery, and of loved ones left behind by those who died from overdosing.
Call Number: Libby - eBooks & Audiobooks
Addiction in America: Society, Psychology, and Heredity by Ida Walker
Describes America's addiction problem and discusses the social, psychological, and heredity factors that might cause addiction. Also examines addiction's effects on society, and ways to break the cycle of addiction.
Call Number: SHS Learning Commons - Print & Digital Collection
Dopesick by Beth Macy
Presents the argument that in the past twenty years in the United States there has been an opioid abuse crisis, and that the introduction of OxyContin in 1996 into the medical arena is to blame, along with corporate greed and "Big Pharma."
Call Number: SHS Learning Commons - Print & Digital Collection
The Boy in the Black Suit by Jason Reynolds
Matt wears a black suit every day, not because his mom died—although she did, and it sucks. He wears the suit for his gig at the local funeral home. Then Matt meets Lovey who's been through more crazy stuff than he can imagine. Yet, she’s tough in the way Matt wishes he could be. Because there’s nothing more hopeful than finding a person who understands your loneliness—and who can maybe even help take it away.
Call Number: SHS Learning Commons - Print & Digital Collection
The Chance You Won't Return by Annie Cardi
When Alex discovers her mother dressing like Amelia Earhart and staying up at night planning a trip, she begins to worry that her mother's delusions will take her away from Alex.
Call Number: SHS Learning Commons - Print & Digital Collection
The Great American Whatever by Tim Federle
Quinn Roberts is a sixteen-year-old smart aleck and Hollywood hopeful whose only worry used to be writing convincing dialogue for the movies he made with his sister Annabeth. Of course, that was all before-before Quinn stopped going to school, before his mom started sleeping on the sofa…and before Annabeth was killed in a car accident.
Call Number: Libby eBooks & Audiobooks
ISBN: 9781481404099
Goodbye Days by Jeff Zentner
Carver Briggs never imagined the text he sent would lead to a deadly accident. Reeling from the deaths of this three friends and riddled with guilt, Carver finds himself shunned at school and facing a possible criminal investigation.
Call Number: SHS Learning Commons - Print & Digital Collection
How it Feels to Float by Helen Fox
Biz knows how to float. She has her people, her posse, her mom and the twins. She has Grace. And she has her dad, who tells her about the little kid she was, and who shouldn't be here but is. So Biz doesn't tell anyone anything. Not about her dark, runaway thoughts, not about kissing Grace or noticing Jasper, the new boy. And she doesn't tell anyone about her dad. Because her dad died when she was seven.
Call Number: Libby eBooks & Audiobooks
Speak of Me as I Am by Sonia Belasco
Melanie and Damon are both living in the shadow of loss. For Melanie, it's the loss of her larger-than-life artist mother, taken by cancer well before her time. For Damon, it’s the loss of his best friend, Carlos, who took his own life. As they struggle to fill the empty spaces their loved ones left behind, fate conspires to bring them together.
Call Number: Libby - eBooks & Audiobooks
Some of the Parts by Hannah Barnaby
For months, Tallie McGovern has been coping with the death of her older brother the only way she knows how: by smiling bravely and pretending that she’s okay. She’s managed to fool her friends, her parents, and her teachers, yet she can’t even say his name out loud: “N—” is as far as she can go. Then Tallie comes across a letter in the mail, and it only takes two words to crack the careful façade she’s built up.
Call Number: Libby - eBooks & Audiobooks
The Start of Me and You by Emery Lord
It's been a year since it happened--when Paige Hancock's first boyfriend died in an accident. After shutting out the world for two years, Paige is finally ready for a second chance at high school . . . and she has a plan. First: Get her old crush, Ryan Chase, to date her--the perfect way to convince everyone she's back to normal. Will Paige be able to face her fears and finally open herself up to the life she was meant to live?
Call Number: Libby - eBooks & Audiobooks
We are Okay by Nina LaCour
You go through life thinking there’s so much you need. . . Until you leave with only your phone, your wallet, and a picture of your mother. Marin hasn’t spoken to anyone from her old life since the day she left everything behind. No one knows the truth about those final weeks. Not even her best friend Mabel. But even thousands of miles away from the California coast, at college in New York, Marin still feels the pull of the life and tragedy she’s tried to outrun.
Call Number: SHS Learning Commons - Print & Digital Collection
The Meaning of Birds by Jaye Robin Brown
Jessica, an "out" lesbian and one of the only "out" teenagers in her school, finds that the grief and anger building inside her ever since her father's death is changed and redirected by Vivi when she crashes into her life, opening her up to love and encouraging her to pursue her talent as an artist. Then, in the middle of their senior year, Vivi suddenly dies, sending Jess back into anger and depression.
Call Number: SHS Learning Commons - Print & Digital Collection
Summer Bird Blue by Akemi Dawn Bowman
Rumi Seto spends a lot of time worrying she doesn’t have the answers to everything. What to eat, where to go, whom to love. But there is one thing she is absolutely sure of—she wants to spend the rest of her life writing music with her younger sister, Lea. Then Lea dies in a car accident, and her mother sends her away to live with her aunt in Hawaii while she deals with her own grief.
Call Number: SHS Learning Commons - Print & Digital Collection
Challenger Deep by Neal Shusterman; Brendan Shusterman (Illustrator)
Caden Bosch is on a ship that's headed for the deepest point on Earth: Challenger Deep, the southern part of the Marianas Trench. Caden Bosch is a brilliant high school student whose friends are starting to notice his odd behavior.
Call Number: SHS Learning Commons - Print & Digital Collection
Jack Kerouac Is Dead to Me by Gae Polisner
Fifteen-year-old JL Markham’s life used to be filled with carnival nights and hot summer days spent giggling with her forever best friend Aubrey about their families and boys. Together, they were unstoppable. But they aren’t the friends they once were. With JL’s father gone on long term business, and her mother struggling with her mental illness, JL takes solace in the tropical butterflies she raises, and in her new, older boyfriend, Max Gordon.
Call Number: Libby - eBooks & Audiobooks
Made You Up by Francesca Zappia
This thought-provoking debut tells the story of Alex, a high school senior—and the ultimate unreliable narrator—unable to tell the difference between real life and delusion. Alex fights a daily battle to figure out what is real and what is not. Armed with a take-no-prisoners attitude, her camera, a Magic 8 Ball, and her only ally (her little sister), Alex wages a war against her schizophrenia, determined to stay sane long enough to get into college.
Call Number: Libby - eBooks & Audiobooks
Words on Bathroom Walls by Julia Walton
Adam suffers from schizophrenia and lives with a cast of characters who aren't there. When he gets in on an experimental drug trial, his visions go away, and Adam has hope he might be able to woo Maya, a girl who already thinks he is great if only the drug keeps working--so, of course the drug starts failing, and now Adam will do anything to keep Maya from discovering his secret.
Call Number: SHS Learning Commons - Print & Digital Collection
Jars of Glass by Brad Barkley; Heather Hepler
Two sisters, aged fourteen and fifteen, offer their views of events that occur during the year after their mother is diagnosed with schizophrenia and their family, including a recently adopted Russian orphan, begins to disintegrate.
Call Number: SHS Learning Commons - Print & Digital Collection
Let's Call It a Doomsday by Katie Henry
There are many ways the world could end. A fire. A catastrophic flood. A super eruption that spews lakes of lava. Ellis Kimball has made note of all possible scenarios, and she is prepared for each one.
Call Number: SHS Learning Commons - Print & Digital Collection
Six Goodbyes We Never Said by Candace Ganger
Teens Naima Rodriguez, who suffers from obsessive-compulsive disorder and generalized anxiety disorder, and Dew Brickman, who has social anxiety, bond over their mutual loss of both parents.
Call Number: SHS Learning Commons - Print & Digital Collection
I Crawl Through It by A. S. King
Four teens, riddled with anxieties, find unconventional ways to escape the pressure, trauma, and loss they have experienced in their lives, only to discover that the only escape from reality is to face it.
Call Number: SHS Learning Commons - Print & Digital Collection
The Rest of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness
Mikey is just an ordinary senior in high school with hopes of graduating, going to prom, and working up the nerve to ask the girl of his dreams out. He's not like the super-hero “indie” kids at school who are constantly disappearing to ward off the Apocalypse by fighting zombies, vampires, or whatever supernatural power threatens to end the world. He's not a “Chosen One” like his best friend who happens to be a cat god. He's just a normal kid, battling his paralyzing anxiety, who's trying to make his ordinary life as extraordinary as it can be.
Call Number: SHS Learning Commons - Print & Digital Collection
Starfish by Akemi Dawn Bowman
A half-Japanese teen grapples with social anxiety and her narcissist mother in the wake of a crushing rejection from art school.
Call Number: Libby - eBooks & Audiobooks
Before I Let Go by Marieke Nijkamp
Returning to her small Alaska home town after her bipolar best friend's death, Corey uncovers chilling secrets about the townspeople and their treatment of Kyra prior to her drowning.
Call Number: SHS Learning Commons - Print & Digital Collection
Darius the Great is Not Okay by Khorram, Adib
Darius Kellner is a Fractional Persian—half, his mom’s side—and his first-ever trip to Iran is about to change his life. Darius has never really fit in at home, and he’s sure things are going to be the same in Iran. His clinical depression doesn’t exactly help matters, and trying to explain his medication to his grandparents only makes things harder. Then Darius meets Sohrab, the boy next door, and everything changes.
Call Number: SHS Learning Commons - Print & Digital Collection
Eliza and Her Monsters by Francesca Zappia
In the real world, Eliza Mirk is shy, weird, and friendless. Online, Eliza is LadyConstellation, anonymous creator of a popular webcomic called Monstrous Sea. With millions of followers and fans throughout the world, Eliza’s persona is popular. Eliza can’t imagine enjoying the real world as much as she loves her digital community. But when Eliza’s secret is accidentally shared with the world, everything she’s built begins to fall apart.
Call Number: Libby eBook & Audiobook
Little and Lion by Brandy Colbert
Sixteen-year-old Suzette has returned to Los Angeles for the summer after being away at boarding school. Happy to be back with her racially blended family--Suzette and her mother are black, while her father and brother Lionel are white--Suzette is anxious to spend time with her old friends and help her brother who has been struggling with bipolar disorder. When Lionel confides that he's going off his medication, Suzette is afraid that telling anyone will destroy their relationship.
Call Number: SHS Learning Commons - Print & Digital Collection
The Weight of Zero by Karen Fortunati
Catherine knows Zero is coming for her. Zero, the depression born of Catherine’s bipolar disorder, almost triumphed once. Being bipolar is forever. It never goes away. And so, Catherine stockpiles medications, preparing to take her own life. Before she goes, though, she starts a short bucket list. This is a story of loss and grief and hope, and how some of the many shapes of love affect a young woman’s struggle with mental illness and the stigma of treatment.
Call Number: SHS Learning Commons - Print & Digital Collection
When We Collided by Emery Lord
Jonah Daniels has lived in Verona Cove, California, his whole life, and only one thing has ever changed: his father used to be alive, and now he is not. With a mother lost in a deep bout of depression, Jonah and his five siblings struggle to keep up their home and the restaurant their dad left behind. But at the start of summer, a second change rolls in: Vivi Alexander, the new girl in town.
Call Number: Libby - eBooks & Audiobooks
Dr. Bird's Advice for Sad Poets by Evan Roskos
A sixteen-year-old boy wrestling with depression and anxiety tries to cope by writing poems, reciting Walt Whitman, hugging trees, and uncovering why his sister has been kicked out of the house.
Call Number: SHS Learning Commons - Print & Digital Collection
The Lightness of Hands by Jeff Garvin
Ellie has bipolar disorder. Her father used to be a popular magician until his illusion on live television failed. Now they have no money for Ellie's medication or her father's heart condition. So she signs her father up for the chance to redeem himself and perform his act on a live television special in Los Angeles in ten days, earning them the money they need.
Call Number: SHS Learning Commons - Print & Digital Collection
The Art of Starving by Sam J. Miller
Matt hasn’t eaten in days. His stomach stabs and twists inside, pleading for a meal, but Matt won’t give in. The hunger clears his mind, keeps him sharp—and he needs to be as sharp as possible if he’s going to find out just how Tariq and his band of high school bullies drove his sister, Maya, away.
Call Number: Libby eBook & Audiobook
Eating Disorders by Tammy Laser; Stephanie Watson
This book provides the details behind eating disorders and shares the steps that a reader needs to take to improve his or her body image.
Call Number: SHS Learning Commons - Print & Digital Collection
Wintergirls by Laurie Halse Anderson
Eighteen-year-old Lia comes to terms with her best friend's death from anorexia as she struggles with the same disorder.
Call Number: SHS Learning Commons - Print & Digital Collection
Purge by Sarah Darer Littman
When her parents check sixteen-year-old Janie into Golden Slopes to help her recover from her bulimia, she discovers that she must talk about things she has admitted to no one--not even herself.
Call Number: SHS Learning Commons - Print & Digital Collection
Teens Talk about Body Image and Eating Disorders by Jennifer Landau (Editor)
Teens who suffer from body image issues and eating disorders discuss how these disorders make them feel and how they face the challenges that go along with living with these conditions. Also includes teens talking about how they support their friends living with these conditions.
Call Number: Libby eBooks & Audiobooks
Coping with Eating Disorders by Carmen Cusido
At least 30 million people in the United States suffer from eating disorders, and these mental health conditions affect people of all ages and genders. This candid guide provides straightforward information about what triggers disorders like anorexia nervosa, bulimia nervosa, and binge-eating disorder; how to spot them in a loved one; signs of an impending relapse; and steps toward recovery.
Call Number: Libby eBooks & Audiobooks
This Impossible Light by Lily Myers
Fifteen-year-old Ivy feels like her life is spinning out of control—her father has moved out, her mother has grown increasingly distant, and it seems that Ivy's body is growing taller and curvier every day. When Ivy skips a meal one day, she finds something in her world she can control. As she slips deeper into an eating disorder, she must face down her personal demons and some of her mother's she seems to have inherited as well.
Call Number: Libby eBooks & Audiobooks
The Astonishing Color of After by Emily X. R. Pan
After her mother's suicide, fifteen-year-old Leigh travels to Taiwan where she will finally meet the grandparents she never knew and come to terms with her mother's death. As she immerses herself the culture, she finds signs and hidden meanings all around her, and begins to believe that her mother has been reincarnated as a giant red bird.
Call Number: SHS Learning Commons - Print & Digital Collection
Cut by Patricia McCormick
While confined to a mental hospital, thirteen-year-old Callie slowly comes to understand some of the reasons behind her self-mutilation, and gradually starts to get better.
Call Number: Print Book & Audiobook
More Happy Than Not by Adam Silvera
In the months after his father's suicide, it's been tough for sixteen-year-old Aaron Soto to find happiness again—but he's still gunning for it. With the support of his girlfriend Genevieve and his overworked mom, he's slowly remembering what that might feel like. But grief and the smile-shaped scar on his wrist prevent him from forgetting completely.
Call Number: Libby - eBooks & Audiobooks
My Heart and Other Black Holes by Jasmine Warga
Sixteen-year-old Aysel is obsessed with plotting her own death. With a mother who can barely look at her without wincing, classmates who whisper behind her back, and a father whose violent crime rocked her small town, Aysel is ready to turn her potential energy into nothingness. However, she’s not sure she has the courage to do it alone. She must choose between wanting to die or trying to convince a new friend to live so they can discover the potential of their energy together.
Call Number: Libby - eBooks & Audiobooks
Ball Don't Lie by Matt de la Peña
Seventeen-year-old Sticky lives to play basketball at school and at Lincoln Rec Center in Los Angeles. He is headed for the pros, but is unaware of the many dangers, including his own past, that threaten his dream.
Call Number: MackinVIA eBook
Say What You Will by Cammie McGovern
Seventeen-year-old Amy has cerebral palsy, speaks with an electronic speech computer, and uses adult aides. In her last year of high school, Amy decides to hire a peer to help her make friends. OCD-suffering Matthew becomes her peer helper and the two develop an unlikely friendship that leads to love.
Call Number: SHS Learning Commons - Print & Digital Collection
Turtles All the Way Down by John Green
Aza Holmes never intended to pursue the disappearance of fugitive billionaire Russell Pickett, but there’s a hundred-thousand-dollar reward at stake and her Best and Most Fearless Friend, Daisy, is eager to investigate. Aza is trying. She is trying to be a good daughter, a good friend, a good student, and maybe even a good detective, while also living within the ever-tightening spiral of her own thoughts.
Call Number: SHS Learning Commons - Print & Digital Collection
The Weight of Our Sky by Hanna Alkaf
During the Chinese-Malay conflict in Kuala Lumpur in 1969, sixteen-year-old Melati must overcome violence, her own OCD, and prejudices in order to find her way home to her mom.
Being Me with OCD by Alison Dotson
Examines the life of Alison Dotson and how she has coped with her obsessive-compulsive disorder in her teenage life. Discusses the experiences of several different teenagers who have reacted in different ways to OCD.
Call Number: SHS Learning Commons - Print & Digital Collection
American Road Trip by Patrick Flores-Scott
Some difficult circumstances bring Teodoro "T" Avila down the summer before his senior year, not least of which being his beloved older brother Manny returning from Iraq with severe PTSD. Desperate to save Manny from himself and to heal his family, T's fiery sister, Xochitl, tricks her brothers into going on a road trip together.
Call Number: SHS Learning Commons - Print & Digital Collection
Girl in Pieces by Kathleen Glasgow
Charlotte Davis is in pieces. At seventeen she’s already lost more than most people do in a lifetime. But she’s learned how to forget. Every new scar hardens Charlie’s heart just a little more, yet it still hurts so much. It hurts enough to not care anymore, which is sometimes what has to happen before you can find your way back from the edge.
Call Number: SHS Learning Commons - Print & Digital Collection
Meet Me Here by Bryan Bliss
Thomas is supposed to leave for the Army in the morning. His father was Army. His brother, Jake, is Army—is a hero, even, with the medals to prove it. Everyone expects Thomas to follow in that fine tradition. But Jake came back from overseas a completely different person, and that has shaken Thomas’s certainty about his own future.
Call Number: Libby - eBooks & Audiobooks
Hey, Kiddo by Jarrett J. Krosoczka
A graphic novel memoir by author and illustrator Jarrett Krosoczka who describes growing up with an addict mother, a missing father, and two loving, opinionated grandparents who raised him into his teen years. Describes how Krosoczka relied on his art to express himself and to survive the ups and downs of life.
Call Number: SHS Learning Commons - Print & Digital Collection
Buried Beneath the Baobab Tree by Adaobi Tricia Nwaubani; Viviana Mazza
A young girl in a Nigerian village has modest hopes--of getting a new pair of shoes, a university degree, and even a husband--but those hopes are dashed when Boko Haram and the Islamic terrorist group attack her village. She and many other girls and women are kidnapped and taken into the forest, where they are forced to follow Boko Haram's radical beliefs.
Call Number: SHS Learning Commons - Print & Digital Collection
The Fall of Innocence by Jenny Torres Sanchez
When she was eight years old, Emilia DeJesus was brutally attacked in the woods behind her school. Now sixteen, she has buried the memories of that day, and with the help of family and friends, is living each day to the fullest. But when she learns that the boy she identified is about to be released because of a false confession, her past floods back leaving her to confront the shifting truths of a new reality, often retreating into fantasies that comforted her as a child.
Call Number: SHS Learning Commons - Print & Digital Collection
Bottled Up by
A high school boy comes to terms with his drug addiction, life with an alcoholic father, and a younger brother who looks up to him.
Black Girl Unlimited by
A black teenager named Echo believes she is a wizard and uses her magical abilities to cope and rise up out of her crime-infested and poverty-stricken east Cleveland neighborhood, and reach beyond her dysfunctional family's drug addiction.
Last Night I Sang to the Monster by
Saenz's gripping novel centers on 18-year-old Zach, who resides in a therapeutic treatment center for alcoholism and post-traumatic stress disorder but does not remember how he came to be there. With the help of his roommate, Rafael, and therapist, Adam, Zach must face his painful past and slowly trudge through the steps toward recovery.
Twelve Steps to Normal by
When her father is sent to rehab for alcoholism, sixteen-year-old Kira is forced to live with her aunt across the country for eight months. She had to leave behind her best friends, boyfriend, and dance team. Now that her dad's done with rehab, Kira can come back home and get her old life back. However, Kira finds out that it's not that simple, and she must go through her own twelve-step program to cope with this new life.
Heroine by
When a car crash sidelines Mickey just before softball season, she has to find a way to hold on to her spot. Behind the plate is the only place she’s ever felt comfortable, and the painkillers she’s been prescribed can help her get there. The pills do more than take away pain; they make her feel good. Her need increases, and it becomes less about pain and more about want, something that could send her spiraling out of control.
The Revolution of Birdie Randolph by
Sixteen-year-old Dove "Birdie" Randolph's close bond with her parents is threatened by a family secret, and by hiding her relationship with Booker, who has been in juvenile detention.
Thicker Than Water by
Cyrus once was a successful athlete, but an injury forced him off the soccer field and into an addiction to pain medication, making him angry and violent. His sister, Cecelia, decided to do something about it, and earn a profit on the side by selling his pills. CeCe, an honor student, becomes a drug dealer in secret.
Beneath a Meth Moon by
Laurel Daneau has moved on to a new life, in a new town, but inside she's still reeling from the loss of her beloved mother and grandmother after Hurricane Katrina washed away their home. Laurel's new life is going well, with a new best friend, a place on the cheerleading squad and T-Boom, co-captain of the basketball team, for a boyfriend. Yet Laurel is haunted by voices and memories from her past. When T-Boom introduces Laurel to meth, she immediately falls under its spell.
Addiction and Overdose by
Drug overdosing and death from prescription painkillers and heroin are at epidemic levels in the United States. How do people become addicted to opioids and other dangerous drugs, and why? Meet the experts who study the neurology of addiction. Hear stories of addicts in recovery, and of loved ones left behind by those who died from overdosing.
Addiction in America: Society, Psychology, and Heredity by
Describes America's addiction problem and discusses the social, psychological, and heredity factors that might cause addiction. Also examines addiction's effects on society, and ways to break the cycle of addiction.
Dopesick by
Presents the argument that in the past twenty years in the United States there has been an opioid abuse crisis, and that the introduction of OxyContin in 1996 into the medical arena is to blame, along with corporate greed and "Big Pharma."
The Boy in the Black Suit by
Matt wears a black suit every day, not because his mom died—although she did, and it sucks. He wears the suit for his gig at the local funeral home. Then Matt meets Lovey who's been through more crazy stuff than he can imagine. Yet, she’s tough in the way Matt wishes he could be. Because there’s nothing more hopeful than finding a person who understands your loneliness—and who can maybe even help take it away.
The Chance You Won't Return by
When Alex discovers her mother dressing like Amelia Earhart and staying up at night planning a trip, she begins to worry that her mother's delusions will take her away from Alex.
The Great American Whatever by
Quinn Roberts is a sixteen-year-old smart aleck and Hollywood hopeful whose only worry used to be writing convincing dialogue for the movies he made with his sister Annabeth. Of course, that was all before-before Quinn stopped going to school, before his mom started sleeping on the sofa…and before Annabeth was killed in a car accident.
Goodbye Days by
Carver Briggs never imagined the text he sent would lead to a deadly accident. Reeling from the deaths of this three friends and riddled with guilt, Carver finds himself shunned at school and facing a possible criminal investigation.
How it Feels to Float by
Biz knows how to float. She has her people, her posse, her mom and the twins. She has Grace. And she has her dad, who tells her about the little kid she was, and who shouldn't be here but is. So Biz doesn't tell anyone anything. Not about her dark, runaway thoughts, not about kissing Grace or noticing Jasper, the new boy. And she doesn't tell anyone about her dad. Because her dad died when she was seven.
Speak of Me as I Am by
Melanie and Damon are both living in the shadow of loss. For Melanie, it's the loss of her larger-than-life artist mother, taken by cancer well before her time. For Damon, it’s the loss of his best friend, Carlos, who took his own life. As they struggle to fill the empty spaces their loved ones left behind, fate conspires to bring them together.
Some of the Parts by
For months, Tallie McGovern has been coping with the death of her older brother the only way she knows how: by smiling bravely and pretending that she’s okay. She’s managed to fool her friends, her parents, and her teachers, yet she can’t even say his name out loud: “N—” is as far as she can go. Then Tallie comes across a letter in the mail, and it only takes two words to crack the careful façade she’s built up.
The Start of Me and You by
It's been a year since it happened--when Paige Hancock's first boyfriend died in an accident. After shutting out the world for two years, Paige is finally ready for a second chance at high school . . . and she has a plan. First: Get her old crush, Ryan Chase, to date her--the perfect way to convince everyone she's back to normal. Will Paige be able to face her fears and finally open herself up to the life she was meant to live?
We are Okay by
You go through life thinking there’s so much you need. . . Until you leave with only your phone, your wallet, and a picture of your mother. Marin hasn’t spoken to anyone from her old life since the day she left everything behind. No one knows the truth about those final weeks. Not even her best friend Mabel. But even thousands of miles away from the California coast, at college in New York, Marin still feels the pull of the life and tragedy she’s tried to outrun.
The Meaning of Birds by
Jessica, an "out" lesbian and one of the only "out" teenagers in her school, finds that the grief and anger building inside her ever since her father's death is changed and redirected by Vivi when she crashes into her life, opening her up to love and encouraging her to pursue her talent as an artist. Then, in the middle of their senior year, Vivi suddenly dies, sending Jess back into anger and depression.
Summer Bird Blue by
Rumi Seto spends a lot of time worrying she doesn’t have the answers to everything. What to eat, where to go, whom to love. But there is one thing she is absolutely sure of—she wants to spend the rest of her life writing music with her younger sister, Lea. Then Lea dies in a car accident, and her mother sends her away to live with her aunt in Hawaii while she deals with her own grief.
Challenger Deep by
Caden Bosch is on a ship that's headed for the deepest point on Earth: Challenger Deep, the southern part of the Marianas Trench. Caden Bosch is a brilliant high school student whose friends are starting to notice his odd behavior.
Jack Kerouac Is Dead to Me by
Fifteen-year-old JL Markham’s life used to be filled with carnival nights and hot summer days spent giggling with her forever best friend Aubrey about their families and boys. Together, they were unstoppable. But they aren’t the friends they once were. With JL’s father gone on long term business, and her mother struggling with her mental illness, JL takes solace in the tropical butterflies she raises, and in her new, older boyfriend, Max Gordon.
Made You Up by
This thought-provoking debut tells the story of Alex, a high school senior—and the ultimate unreliable narrator—unable to tell the difference between real life and delusion. Alex fights a daily battle to figure out what is real and what is not. Armed with a take-no-prisoners attitude, her camera, a Magic 8 Ball, and her only ally (her little sister), Alex wages a war against her schizophrenia, determined to stay sane long enough to get into college.
Words on Bathroom Walls by
Adam suffers from schizophrenia and lives with a cast of characters who aren't there. When he gets in on an experimental drug trial, his visions go away, and Adam has hope he might be able to woo Maya, a girl who already thinks he is great if only the drug keeps working--so, of course the drug starts failing, and now Adam will do anything to keep Maya from discovering his secret.
Jars of Glass by
Two sisters, aged fourteen and fifteen, offer their views of events that occur during the year after their mother is diagnosed with schizophrenia and their family, including a recently adopted Russian orphan, begins to disintegrate.
Finding Audrey by 
Let's Call It a Doomsday by
There are many ways the world could end. A fire. A catastrophic flood. A super eruption that spews lakes of lava. Ellis Kimball has made note of all possible scenarios, and she is prepared for each one.
Six Goodbyes We Never Said by
Teens Naima Rodriguez, who suffers from obsessive-compulsive disorder and generalized anxiety disorder, and Dew Brickman, who has social anxiety, bond over their mutual loss of both parents.
I Crawl Through It by
Four teens, riddled with anxieties, find unconventional ways to escape the pressure, trauma, and loss they have experienced in their lives, only to discover that the only escape from reality is to face it.
The Rest of Us Just Live Here by
Mikey is just an ordinary senior in high school with hopes of graduating, going to prom, and working up the nerve to ask the girl of his dreams out. He's not like the super-hero “indie” kids at school who are constantly disappearing to ward off the Apocalypse by fighting zombies, vampires, or whatever supernatural power threatens to end the world. He's not a “Chosen One” like his best friend who happens to be a cat god. He's just a normal kid, battling his paralyzing anxiety, who's trying to make his ordinary life as extraordinary as it can be.
Starfish by
A half-Japanese teen grapples with social anxiety and her narcissist mother in the wake of a crushing rejection from art school.
Before I Let Go by
Returning to her small Alaska home town after her bipolar best friend's death, Corey uncovers chilling secrets about the townspeople and their treatment of Kyra prior to her drowning.
Darius the Great is Not Okay by
Darius Kellner is a Fractional Persian—half, his mom’s side—and his first-ever trip to Iran is about to change his life. Darius has never really fit in at home, and he’s sure things are going to be the same in Iran. His clinical depression doesn’t exactly help matters, and trying to explain his medication to his grandparents only makes things harder. Then Darius meets Sohrab, the boy next door, and everything changes.
Eliza and Her Monsters by
In the real world, Eliza Mirk is shy, weird, and friendless. Online, Eliza is LadyConstellation, anonymous creator of a popular webcomic called Monstrous Sea. With millions of followers and fans throughout the world, Eliza’s persona is popular. Eliza can’t imagine enjoying the real world as much as she loves her digital community. But when Eliza’s secret is accidentally shared with the world, everything she’s built begins to fall apart.
Little and Lion by
Sixteen-year-old Suzette has returned to Los Angeles for the summer after being away at boarding school. Happy to be back with her racially blended family--Suzette and her mother are black, while her father and brother Lionel are white--Suzette is anxious to spend time with her old friends and help her brother who has been struggling with bipolar disorder. When Lionel confides that he's going off his medication, Suzette is afraid that telling anyone will destroy their relationship.
Ten Miles One Way by 
The Weight of Zero by
Catherine knows Zero is coming for her. Zero, the depression born of Catherine’s bipolar disorder, almost triumphed once. Being bipolar is forever. It never goes away. And so, Catherine stockpiles medications, preparing to take her own life. Before she goes, though, she starts a short bucket list. This is a story of loss and grief and hope, and how some of the many shapes of love affect a young woman’s struggle with mental illness and the stigma of treatment.
When We Collided by
Jonah Daniels has lived in Verona Cove, California, his whole life, and only one thing has ever changed: his father used to be alive, and now he is not. With a mother lost in a deep bout of depression, Jonah and his five siblings struggle to keep up their home and the restaurant their dad left behind. But at the start of summer, a second change rolls in: Vivi Alexander, the new girl in town.
Dr. Bird's Advice for Sad Poets by
A sixteen-year-old boy wrestling with depression and anxiety tries to cope by writing poems, reciting Walt Whitman, hugging trees, and uncovering why his sister has been kicked out of the house.
The Lightness of Hands by
Ellie has bipolar disorder. Her father used to be a popular magician until his illusion on live television failed. Now they have no money for Ellie's medication or her father's heart condition. So she signs her father up for the chance to redeem himself and perform his act on a live television special in Los Angeles in ten days, earning them the money they need.
The Art of Starving by
Matt hasn’t eaten in days. His stomach stabs and twists inside, pleading for a meal, but Matt won’t give in. The hunger clears his mind, keeps him sharp—and he needs to be as sharp as possible if he’s going to find out just how Tariq and his band of high school bullies drove his sister, Maya, away.
Taking Action Against Eating Disorders by
This book defines different eating disorders and their causes and presents treatment and prevention options.
Eating Disorders by
This book provides the details behind eating disorders and shares the steps that a reader needs to take to improve his or her body image.
Wintergirls by
Eighteen-year-old Lia comes to terms with her best friend's death from anorexia as she struggles with the same disorder.
Purge by
When her parents check sixteen-year-old Janie into Golden Slopes to help her recover from her bulimia, she discovers that she must talk about things she has admitted to no one--not even herself.
Teens Talk about Body Image and Eating Disorders by
Teens who suffer from body image issues and eating disorders discuss how these disorders make them feel and how they face the challenges that go along with living with these conditions. Also includes teens talking about how they support their friends living with these conditions.
Coping with Eating Disorders by
At least 30 million people in the United States suffer from eating disorders, and these mental health conditions affect people of all ages and genders. This candid guide provides straightforward information about what triggers disorders like anorexia nervosa, bulimia nervosa, and binge-eating disorder; how to spot them in a loved one; signs of an impending relapse; and steps toward recovery.
This Impossible Light by
Fifteen-year-old Ivy feels like her life is spinning out of control—her father has moved out, her mother has grown increasingly distant, and it seems that Ivy's body is growing taller and curvier every day. When Ivy skips a meal one day, she finds something in her world she can control. As she slips deeper into an eating disorder, she must face down her personal demons and some of her mother's she seems to have inherited as well.
The Astonishing Color of After by
After her mother's suicide, fifteen-year-old Leigh travels to Taiwan where she will finally meet the grandparents she never knew and come to terms with her mother's death. As she immerses herself the culture, she finds signs and hidden meanings all around her, and begins to believe that her mother has been reincarnated as a giant red bird.
Cut by
While confined to a mental hospital, thirteen-year-old Callie slowly comes to understand some of the reasons behind her self-mutilation, and gradually starts to get better.
More Happy Than Not by
In the months after his father's suicide, it's been tough for sixteen-year-old Aaron Soto to find happiness again—but he's still gunning for it. With the support of his girlfriend Genevieve and his overworked mom, he's slowly remembering what that might feel like. But grief and the smile-shaped scar on his wrist prevent him from forgetting completely.
My Heart and Other Black Holes by
Sixteen-year-old Aysel is obsessed with plotting her own death. With a mother who can barely look at her without wincing, classmates who whisper behind her back, and a father whose violent crime rocked her small town, Aysel is ready to turn her potential energy into nothingness. However, she’s not sure she has the courage to do it alone. She must choose between wanting to die or trying to convince a new friend to live so they can discover the potential of their energy together.
Ball Don't Lie by
Seventeen-year-old Sticky lives to play basketball at school and at Lincoln Rec Center in Los Angeles. He is headed for the pros, but is unaware of the many dangers, including his own past, that threaten his dream.
Say What You Will by
Seventeen-year-old Amy has cerebral palsy, speaks with an electronic speech computer, and uses adult aides. In her last year of high school, Amy decides to hire a peer to help her make friends. OCD-suffering Matthew becomes her peer helper and the two develop an unlikely friendship that leads to love.
Turtles All the Way Down by
Aza Holmes never intended to pursue the disappearance of fugitive billionaire Russell Pickett, but there’s a hundred-thousand-dollar reward at stake and her Best and Most Fearless Friend, Daisy, is eager to investigate. Aza is trying. She is trying to be a good daughter, a good friend, a good student, and maybe even a good detective, while also living within the ever-tightening spiral of her own thoughts.
The Weight of Our Sky by
During the Chinese-Malay conflict in Kuala Lumpur in 1969, sixteen-year-old Melati must overcome violence, her own OCD, and prejudices in order to find her way home to her mom.
Being Me with OCD by
Examines the life of Alison Dotson and how she has coped with her obsessive-compulsive disorder in her teenage life. Discusses the experiences of several different teenagers who have reacted in different ways to OCD.
American Road Trip by
Some difficult circumstances bring Teodoro "T" Avila down the summer before his senior year, not least of which being his beloved older brother Manny returning from Iraq with severe PTSD. Desperate to save Manny from himself and to heal his family, T's fiery sister, Xochitl, tricks her brothers into going on a road trip together.
Girl in Pieces by
Charlotte Davis is in pieces. At seventeen she’s already lost more than most people do in a lifetime. But she’s learned how to forget. Every new scar hardens Charlie’s heart just a little more, yet it still hurts so much. It hurts enough to not care anymore, which is sometimes what has to happen before you can find your way back from the edge.
Meet Me Here by
Thomas is supposed to leave for the Army in the morning. His father was Army. His brother, Jake, is Army—is a hero, even, with the medals to prove it. Everyone expects Thomas to follow in that fine tradition. But Jake came back from overseas a completely different person, and that has shaken Thomas’s certainty about his own future.
Hey, Kiddo by
A graphic novel memoir by author and illustrator Jarrett Krosoczka who describes growing up with an addict mother, a missing father, and two loving, opinionated grandparents who raised him into his teen years. Describes how Krosoczka relied on his art to express himself and to survive the ups and downs of life.
Buried Beneath the Baobab Tree by
A young girl in a Nigerian village has modest hopes--of getting a new pair of shoes, a university degree, and even a husband--but those hopes are dashed when Boko Haram and the Islamic terrorist group attack her village. She and many other girls and women are kidnapped and taken into the forest, where they are forced to follow Boko Haram's radical beliefs.
The Fall of Innocence by
When she was eight years old, Emilia DeJesus was brutally attacked in the woods behind her school. Now sixteen, she has buried the memories of that day, and with the help of family and friends, is living each day to the fullest. But when she learns that the boy she identified is about to be released because of a false confession, her past floods back leaving her to confront the shifting truths of a new reality, often retreating into fantasies that comforted her as a child.