Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

SHS Virtual Learning Commons 20-21: Research

Research & Sources of Information

Looking for help with a research project or an online Socratic Seminar? Check out the databases below to find information that's trustworthy and current.  An added perk of using these great sources of information is that they create the citation for your bibliography or works cited page!

Don't hesitate to email Ms. Reishus for tips on finding the best sources of information for a project.  

 

 

Looking for background information? 

Check out the Britannica School Online Encyclopedia for information on a large variety of topics. 

Looking for information about a person? 

In Gale in Context: Biography, you'll find biographical information about people, along with articles from newspapers and magazines about their lives.

Log in with your Virtual Student Library Card.

Looking for persuasive information for an essay, project, or Socratic Seminar?

has pro vs. con essays that present multiple sides of current or controversial issues. Plus magazine and newspaper articles, primary sources, and more related to those issues.

Issues & Controversies is a database with articles written to give students a thorough review of all sides of a topical issue or controversy.

Log in with your Virtual Student Library Card.

Looking for information from newspapers, magazines, & video sources, all in one place?

Gale in Context: High School is a database of magazine and journal articles, primary source documents, reference materials, and audio/video sources.

Explora Teens contains middle and high school-appropriate magazine, journal, and encyclopedia articles and also includes primary source documents, reference books, and multimedia. 

 

EBSCO Megafile includes thousands of popular and scholarly publications across all academic disciplines and subject areas.

ProQuest U.S. Newsstream includes U.S. news content as well as archives that stretch back into the 1980s from national and regional news sources including The New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Los Angeles Times, Boston Globe, Newsday, and Chicago Tribune the Minneapolis Star Tribune.

Looking for information about a country? 

CountryReports provides over 35,000 pages of online content on the cultures and countries of the world.