LibGuides: Health Research Guide: Resources for Research

Online Databases

These AMAZING research tools provide timely, credible information from newspapers, magazines, and multimedia sources -- all in one place!

Here are 4 tips for using the databases:

Use your limiters to narrow down your date range and source type
Access the database's citation generators - be sure to choose APA style.
Restrict your search to "Full Text" results
Keep your search terms brief and play around with synonyms to maximize your results

Gale in Context This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia, magazine, and journal articles, plus primary sources, images, video, and more for high school students.
Explora Teens This link opens in a new window
Contains middle and high school-appropriate magazine, journal, and encyclopedia articles and also includes primary source documents, reference books, and multimedia.
Britannnica High School Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia content for high school grades plus multimedia, timelines, world atlas, country comparison, and primary sources.

Helpful Websites

eBooks

Click on the links for the books below to access the eBook. For MackinVIA eBooks, log in with your district username and password. For Libby eBooks, log in with your Virtual Student Library Card.

Traumatic Brain Injury by Connie Goldsmith
Describes the causes, types, symptoms, and effects of traumatic brain injuries. Profiles adults and young adults who have suffered traumatic brain injuries, and offers information on new technologies for treating these injuries. Log in to MackinVIA with your district username and password.
Drug Information for Teens by Keith Jones (Editor)
Provides teenagers with information about drug use, abuse, and addiction. Discusses the physical and psychological effects of alcohol, tobacco, marijuana, and various legal and illegal drugs that are commonly abused. Log in to MackinVIA with your district username and password.
Sports Injuries Guidebook by Robert S. Gotlin (Editor)
Presents an updated guide to identifying and treating more than 150 types of sport injuries, ranging from concussions, sprains, and whiplash, to shin splints, plantar fasciitis, and abdominal trauma. Log into Libby with your Virtual Student Library Card.
Concussions by Peggy Parks
Provides information on the diagnosis, risks, treatment, and prevention of concussions. Log in to MackinVIA with your district username and password.
Fourth down and Inches by Carla Killough McClafferty
Explores the history of football in the United States focusing on the different head injuries that can occur in a football game and how the sport has evolved to try to reduce injuries. Features true stories of football players who have died from injuries sustained while playing football. Includes information on concussion symptoms, steps for returning to play after a concussion, and further resources. Log in to MackinVIA with your district username and password.