LibGuides: WW1 Essay: Locating Sources of Information

Online Databases

These AMAZING research tools provide timely, credible information from newspapers, magazines, and multimedia sources -- all in one place!

Here are 4 tips for using the databases:

Use your limiters to narrow down your date range and source type
Access the database's citation generators - be sure to choose APA style.
Restrict your search to "Full Text" results
Keep your search terms brief and play around with synonyms to maximize your results

Britannnica High School Encyclopedia This link opens in a new window
Gale in Context This link opens in a new window
Explora Teens This link opens in a new window
Contains middle and high school-appropriate magazine, journal, and encyclopedia articles and also includes primary source documents, reference books, and multimedia.
Issues & Controversies This link opens in a new window
Essays written to give students a thorough review of all sides of a topical issue or controversy. Log in with your Virtual Student Library Card.
Points of View Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Pro vs. con essays that present multiple sides of current or controversial issues. Plus magazine and newspaper articles, primary sources, and more related to those issues.

Books & eBooks

Helpful Websites

General Internet Searches

As you search the general internet for articles on your topic, use the CRAAP test to determine the credibility of the website before using it for your research: