Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Additional Primary Sources
Black Abolitionist Archive
From the University of Detroit Mercy. 1830s-1860s covered. Search by keyword, subject, name, date, organization, newspaper.
Enslaved People in the Southeast
This digital exhibit documents the history of the enslaved in the Southeast and includes material related to the many varied aspects of enslavement, including paper documents and records as well as images. These provide valuable information about the entire infrastructure and system of enslavement as well as the individual and group experiences of enslaved people.
Georgetown Slavery Archive
The Georgetown Slavery Archive is a repository of materials relating to the Maryland Jesuits, Georgetown University, and slavery.
Digital Library on American Slavery
Mounted by the University of North Carolina at Greensboro in collaboration with the Race and Slavery Petitions Project.
Historical Document Repository (Brown University)
Contains over one hundred and fifty historical documents, some six hundred manuscript pages in all, as well as introductory headnotes, bibliographic information, and technical data.
Charles F. Heartman Manuscripts of Slavery Collection
The Charles F. Heartman Manuscripts of Slavery Collection consists of over 6000 pieces dating from 1724 to 1897, and relate directly to the social, economic, civil, and legal status of enslaved Negroes and Free People of Color in Louisiana an especially in New Orleans. The manuscripts are written in French, Spanish, and English.
Slavery Throughout History by
Call Number: 306.362 SLA
Publication Date: 2000-07-21
This volume contains 20 full or excerpted speeches, diary entries, newspaper accounts, novels, poems, memoirs and other materials related to slavery. It includes Hammurabi's code of laws regarding slavery, slave narratives, abolitionist speeches and legislation.